Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section

The Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section is considered one of the finest studio rhythm sections in the world. Composed of Jimmy Johnson, guitar, Roger Hawkins, drums, David Hood, bass, and Barry Beckett, keyboards, the Rhythm Section was formed in 1967 while the players were working with Rick Hall at FAME Studios.

In 1969 they set up their own recording studio, calling it Muscle Shoals Sound Studios. They were the first rhythm section in the U.S. to have the unique concept of owning their own recording studio, publishing and production companies.

They became world renown as the musicians on such classics as "Respect" by Aretha Franklin, "Mustang Sally" by Wilson Pickett, "Kodachrome" by Paul Simon, "Bloody Mary Morning" by Willie Nelson, "Old Time Rock and Roll" by Bob Seger, "Gotta Serve Somebody", by Bob Dylan, and many others. They have garnered over 50 gold and platitum LPs.

The Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section are the 1995 Lifework Award for Non-Performing Achievement recipients.

Alabama Music Hall of Fame

Return to Alabama Music Hall of Fame
Return to Famous Alabamians
Return to General Historical Information
Return to Alabama History On-Line
Created: 2/15/96