Alabama Academy of Honor

To bestow honor and recognition upon living Alabamians for their outstanding accomplishments and services, the Alabama Academy of Honor was created by the State Legislature on October 29, 1965. Each person elected to membership is a distinguished citizen of Alabama, chosen for accomplishment or service greatly benefitting or reflecting great credit on the State.

Each year ten members may be elected by the Academy of Honor until its membership reaches one hundred; additional elections will maintain the membership at that size. All living governors of Alabama are automatically members of the Academy.

On October 25, 1968, a nominating committee appointed by Governor Albert P. Brewer in accordance with Act 15 of the Third Special Session of the 1965 Legislature of Alabama selected the first members.